Drop Everything and Move… To A New State

One of these days I’ll figure out a way to update this blog more than a few times a year.

And that could very well be today, as through a series of sudden developments, I’m now living on my own Stillwater, OK. After 2 productive years I’ve left KTXS in Abilene and am now proudly working for the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education, or CareerTech for short. And despite how hectic everything has been in the two weeks up to that point, I’ve never felt more at ease.

For starters, as far as my instituional vamprism is concerned, I have been necromanced. Yes folks, this is a day job! While I am still adjusting back to it, this way feels so much better and more natural. For some reason, I feel like I have so much more time now, and am motivated to do more things, where in the past I just felt like sleeping most of the time. I’m not ruling out working the graveyard shift again in the future, (as my career may depend on it some day) but I would definitely prefer staying here. It’s so much easier to be social, and schedule things with friends and family.

But here’s the catch: I have no family or friends here, at least not yet. This isn’t my first time living “on my own.” I lived on campus for three years of college. But mom and dad were always a 15 minute drive away. Now, it’s more like 5 and a half hours. I’m truly on my own now, and while the prospect of that is still terrifying in some respects, it’s quite a liberating thing, in a sort of “master of your own destiny” kind of way. About a month in, and I’m enjoying having my own inner sanctum. With my first paycheck now deposited, we’ll see how far my finances will go…

I now live in a modest, aging two bedroom apartment. Rent is great for the space. It’s situated near a tranquil lake, pictured above. (filled with still water! #badpuns) I’m still working to unpack everything, but take a look at these totally candid shots! I’d say it’s coming along nicely. Living Room!

Bit of the kitchen  Bedroom!
Speaking of unpacking, I’ve come to realize something that bothers me: I have way too much stuff. This time, I had the luxury of leaving stuff at my parents’ houses. But if and when I move again, I’m going to need to seriously think about getting rid of somethings or pairing down. I’m not anywhere near the people you see on those hoarding reality shows, but I can see a major selloff of things in the future, as soon as I can emotionally detatch from them. (In other words, I don’t know why, but I can’t get rid of some of these things.)

More on my new job: I’m a Multi-Platform Media Producer for the show Oklahoma Horizon. You’ll get to hear me (and sometimes see me) talk about the awesome things going on with technology and education in this state. You can catch it on most public television stations around the state, nationally on RFD-TV, or on the web at our YouTube channel.

In fact, here’s a couple of segments I’m proud of:

I’ll be posting direct links to things on my other social media outlets, so keep an eye out for that.

All in all, life is good. Many people, mainly my girlfriend, have noticed I’m a lot happier now axbout my job, my situation, and my life. I’m finally allowed to be my mellow self and let things come to me. I am at peace, and really, who could ask for anything more?

2 thoughts on “Drop Everything and Move… To A New State

  1. Very well done Blane.Pappa and I are very proud of the man you have become.Your work ethics show in the 2 examples above informed and thorough.Once again proud of this next step in your life.

  2. You are doing such a wonderful job, and I know many fantastic things are ahead! Geronimo! 😉 I am so happy you get to use your creative side again, as well as that delectable professional voice of yours. 😉

Leave a Reply

