I should at least be the Vice Treasurer of the “Last Year’s Model” Club

So, Apple’s out making stark raving news with the new iThings it unleashed upon the world. Lines are probably already forming at your local Apple store or other tech-savvy place that sells the goods.

It all looks great to me. Personally, I’m okay with my technology getting bigger. It’s harder for me to lose it that way. The features look nice, the new OS looks fantastic, and the Apple Watch looks like it might be just the thing to get people to wear watches again!

One thing that’s been said in many of the news outlets covering the big reveal is “The old iPhone models are already dropping in value!” Well, that’s just great. No, really.

I’m not being sarcastic. It is! That means it’ll be cheaper for me and the many others who can’t wait to snap those old models up.

Yes, this is the big piece of tech I’ve been waiting for. It’s been about two years since I got my iPhone 4s (pictured above) and it’s probably about time I got an upgrade. But an upgrade to me in this case would be the iPhone 5s, 5c, or even the plain ol’ 5. Not necessarily the 6 or 6+.

“But wait!” a hypothetical dissenter says, “Aren’t you concerned that you won’t be able to use the most recent hardware or software with your device?” Not really. In fact, I got this 4s back when the 5 was on the shelves, and its still stayed up to par with just about anything I’ve thrown at it. It’s getting a little hard to find cases for this thing, and few higher end games have crashed or run very slow from time to time, but I don’t really use my phone for mobile gaming in the first place. (I own a 3DS, you see…)

It’s the major compatibilities I’m concerned with, like the OS, and Apple’s good about keeping those backwards compatible with all but their oldest devices. They’re even saying the new iOS 8 will work with my 4s.

It’s this year-after-year schedule of releasing new upgraded versions of tech that sweeps up the masses to buy a new phone, tablet, or computer every. Single. Time. You know them. They flood your news feeds with selfies from the long lines, showing off their tents, and talking about how they’ve been living in their own filth for the past few days and how TOTALLY RAD that all is.

I find that’s a bit overrated. The last time I went to a midnight launch of something was when Super Smash Bros. Brawl came out on the Wii back in 2007. (Now that was a fun queue, since everyone else were Nintendo gamers and had DS’s with them for pick-up Mario Kart races.) But as it turned out, I probably could’ve gone the next day and picked one up, easy.

Speaking of gaming, let me show you the oldest piece of tech I own.

IMG_0665.JPG
That’s a vintage Nintendo Family Computer, or Famicom, circa 1983. You probably know its American cousin, the NES, which came out about two years later.

You’ve probably heard of my retro gaming tendencies before. I’ve bought most of my games used, at an average price of $5 a pop. So yeah, I have no problem with old tech. It’s not necessarily because I’m thrifty, it’s because I like it.

The old stuff just does the job for me, so why shell out more for the latest and (supposedly) greatest?

But hey, don’t let me keep you from rushing out to get the new iThing, Samsung Nebulae, or Nokia’s “Hey, Remember Us?” device. We in the Last Year’s Model Club need you! If it wasn’t for you and your large amounts of (hopefully) disposable income, there wouldn’t be as much for those of us happily playing catch-up. We’re both important parts of this wonderful tech ecosystem.

And that’s not to say I don’t like the latest tech. There are times when I’ve decided to be at the forefront. I got Nintendo’s latest console, the Wii U, at launch, and will probably be sucked in to buy the “New 3DS” (yes, that’s what they’re calling it) not too long after it comes out.

But when what you’ve already got does the job just fine, why rush to upgrade?

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to run an errand… in my ’05 Toyota Camry.

***

Author’s note: Yes, I’ve thought about switching platforms to Android or Windows Phone. They’re great platforms that do some great things. But at this point, I’m so invested into the iPhone I’d have to re-buy a whole lot of software and hardware if I were to change to a Samsung Galaxy V (or whatever the hell they’re up to.).
Alright, *now* you can start flaming me in the comments.

Leave a Reply

