“No human life in the vicinity” … or is there?

“No human life confirmed in the vicinity,” said Liam. With one year of experience in this line of work, there was much he knew of, and many precautions he knew he had to take. He was a temporal agent, a man charged with keeping the very fabric of time in order.”

It’s been a while since I’ve posted here, but I’ve still been writing, as you saw last time. But most of it has been for a novel that for now, I’m titling “CANON.”

If you read blogs on the Internet, you’ve no doubt come across “National Novel Writing Month,” or “NaNoWriMo,” for short. (That should cover just about all of you but here comes the obligatory explanation:) It takes place in November. All month revolves around a simple goal: write 50,000 words towards a brand new novel.

I heard about it the November before last, when it was already half in progress, but it was around that time I got the idea for the novel I attempted this past November. It was one scene, the climax to be exact. Over the course of the next year that scene grew and developed until by mid-October, I could hardly keep it in my head.

So I made the decision, literally right there on October 29th, that I would participate in NaNoWriMo and develop this idea further. Was it crazy? Of course it was. I’d never took on a project, writing or otherwise, with this kind of length or scope. But did I beat the challenge? See for yourself…

After that 50,000, however, I was far from over. I then set a new goal to finish the story (not the editing) by the new year. As I began to catch up with everything else I had put off for the last month, I began to fall behind big time, and missed that goal by a long shot.

But I’m carrying on. I wasn’t even sure if this novel would break the 50,000 mark, but it’s grown into something incredibly huge, and with 50,000, I can’t exactly just shelve it, can I? I’m all but legally obligated to finish this thing now!

So, what is CANON, you ask? How do I put this succinctly…

Genre-wise, it’s science fiction. The titular CANON is an organization formed to preserve the integrity of the timeline. In layman’s terms, they want to prevent the “butterfly effect” from happening. (Not the film. I actually enjoyed that and you could chart that on my growing list of influences for this work.) Time travel is very accessible in this time, and is heavily regulated. CANON goes in and stops people from changing events from the past for their own personal gain or the harm of others.

Now, as any avid reader of time travel knows (at least in cases where the rules work this way) when such changes happen to the past, it doesn’t take long for them catch up with the present. The vast populace will go about their day not knowing anything has happened at all. But agents of CANON also have access to a giant supercomputer that keeps a freeze on all records of the past, and detects any changes to it. CANON agents are implanted with a special chip that relays this persistent memory into their own, so they, too, can more easily recognize it. CANON also computes the most logical course of action to take to right this wrong in the timeline, sometimes in great detail, other times in complete vagueness.

Liam, our protagonist, is a one-year agent in the force. He’s just been assigned to his first mission without a supervising officer. He is instead joined by fellow recruit, Rayne. She’s straight-laced and serious about her work, carefully calculating her actions and not going outside the lines of regulation. On the other hand, Liam is a bit of a loose cannon. He’ll get the job done, but it’ll be his way, which is to say frantic and mostly unplanned.

Standing on a cliff overlooking the facility, Liam scanned the warehouse. “The target is in the west side, near the contraband,” he observed… Rayne set her jump coordinates. Liam leaped down first in a dazzling display of acrobatics.
“Showoff,” Rayne thought. Jump guidance systems were a new addition to their arsenal, one that Liam thought unnecessary. Rayne made her more calculated, methodical jump past the fence and into the facility.

And that’s all I’ll say for now. It’s still very much a work in progress that I’m not done writing yet and have only just begun editing some of the earlier bits. Maybe if you’re nice and comment, follow and like, and get your friends to do the same, I’ll share a chapter or two with you. Maybe.

One thought on ““No human life in the vicinity” … or is there?

  1. Pingback: 50,000 Words Later: NaNoWriMo 2014 Aftermath | Sma Man's Rambling Expirations of his Unconscious!

Leave a Reply

