A Project You’ll Be Hearing Me In Soon

Even before I got this gig on the KACU, even before I got into broadcast journalism, I’ve always wanted to get into voice acting. I’ve done plenty of fun redubs in the past, but this is probably my biggest dubbing project yet.

It’s the English fan translation for Legend of Xanadu II, a Japan-only game released on the PC-Engine CD. (known as the TurboGrafx-CD or TurboDuo in the States) Normally in video game fan translations that have voice acting, the voices are left as is, in their native tongue. But translators/hackers “SamIAm” and “EsperKnight” decided to go the extra mile.

Since video games have always been a hobby/passion of mine, you can imagine how excited I was when I saw the “voice actors wanted” ad come up in my RSS feed one day! So far it’s been quite a pleasure to work with these guys, even though I don’t have very many big parts. I can’t wait to play the finished product, which should come out in a few months or so.

For now, check out these videos from the Japanese version. I’ll make a point to show where my voice will be at in the finished product.

I’ll be providing the prologue narration starting around 4:15 in the above video.

I’m not actually in this one, but its a continuation of the last video in case you’re interested.

In the scene that begins around 8:25, I’ll be the voice of the evil wizard with the big staff at the top of the stairs… yep, I’m the bad guy! >:)

I’ll have information up as it approaches. Until then, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

