Three Blind Mashups (Not really blind, but it sounded cool that way)

Here’s what I like to call a “catch-up post.” While this blog may have looked dead, I certainly wasn’t. I’ve still been producing a lot of fun stuff, like three new mashups. I haven’t gotten around to talking about them, or sharing the insight about them here, though. So let’s get started!

Rotterdam Romance (Lady Gaga vs. Shinji Hosoe)

This is the one I let you guys vote on! Remember? Thanks to everyone that did… all 4 of you. This mashup (and the next one) came about when I got Ridge Racer again for my PS1. It also marks my second Lady Gaga mashup, and probably not the last. Now this may make it seem like I’m a huge Gaga fan, but I’m not, really. As I may have mentioned before, these mashups just pop into my head on a random basis. I hear songs and think, “Wow, these would go great together.” Lady Gaga’s music is everywhere these days, so this increases the likeliness that they get into my head, screw around with other songs I’m hearing, and give birth to beautiful mashups like this one. (It is a lot like childbirth, but not always painful.)

This mashup was very experimental. I played with a lot of the effects and filters in Soundtrack Pro, especially ring shifting to give it that rapid bass-to-treble effect you hear in certain sections. In my opinion, it’s really chaotic, and I wasn’t sure if it would go over well. But it certainly did. I’ve spun it at a couple live gigs and played it for friends and they really enjoyed it, some even saying it was their favorite one.

On the poll, “Keep them both and make them into one big mix” won, so fast forward to 3:40 to hear the “Feeling Romance” section of this mix. I think it’s a great way to chill out after the big, banging, changing tempo, breakcore part you were jamming to before. And y’know what? I might just make a full mashup of this section sometime. You never know…

Boom Boom Hero (Black Eyed Peas vs. Nobuyoshi Sano)

Let it hit ’em!

This one didn’t take too long to do. This is mainly because I set a deadline for this one, but I still like the result. One of my friends wanted to throw a “we haven’t partied in a long time” party, and wanted me to bring along my sound system, since their’s was tiny and was hard to hear. So I thought, “Why not make a mashup and premiere it there?”

I think this one went over well! The people at that party liked it, and so did I, and that’s what’s important. It also may be big in Japan.  DJ Shin Hirai, (which literally translates to DJ Lightning Rod) one of the resident DJs of the video game music party 88nite, has been a follower of my work for quite a while, and he even tweeted this one to his followers. I don’t know if this means that one day this song will be included in the party, but Shin Hirai, if you are reading this and can understand this, go right ahead and use it! I would be honored! (If anyone would like to translate that to Japanese for me, I’d be appreciated. Google Translate seems to be horribly disfiguring my words.)

Tonight (I’m Waving You) (Enrique Iglesias ft. Ludacris vs. Yuzo Koshiro)

Does anyone remember when Enrique Iglesias first got big on the music scene? He made Latino artists cool, and paved the way for a few more to become popular momentarily. People even started getting Santana to play on their songs to give it that cool latino burn. Now, a decade later, he’s back and sounds just like every other talentless slob who’s popular in the music industry. Seriously, he went from “Bailamos” in 1999 where he said, “Tonight we dance,” and today in 2011 he’s singing “Tonight (I’m Fucking You”). He even uses rap breaks by Ludacris. Who does he think he is, Justin Bieber?

So this was my attempt to rectify the situation, given my reputation, of turning “popular” music into something listenable. He can’t be the cool, different kind of English speaking Latino artist he was before, apparently, so at least he can be a 90s Latino House artist with the help of the mastermind behind the Streets of Rage soundtrack, Yuzo Koshiro.

And it looks like a lot of people like it. It’s been up half as long as the two Ridge Racer mashups above, yet it’s already passed up them up in terms of plays on Soundcloud. This mashup also had the quickest production time out of any of them so far. From conception to finished product, I think this only took me about 2 and a half hours. It was one of those where you just can’t put it down until it was finished!

There you have it. Three mashups which all involve video game music as a source. As always, let me know what you think in the comments. (Either on this post, or on Soundcloud.) And remember, you can download these and all of my mashups on my Soundcloud page.

Over and out.

~SmaMan

Leave a Reply

