WIP: Rotterdam Romance (Lady Gaga vs. Shinji Hosoe)

Lady Gaga Vs. Street Fighter... could totally happen!

What is it about Lady Gaga and video games from the early 90s?

With subtle modifications, I previously mashed up “Telephone” with “Moon Beach” from Streets of Rage on the Sega Genesis. And then there’s another Bad Romance mashup with “Flying Battery” from Sonic & Knuckles, of which the base line chord progressions are nearly identical. Perhaps Lady Gaga owned a Sega Genesis? The world may never know.

I’ve been on a racing kick lately, and I recently picked up Ridge Racer for the PS1. The crazy, quirky soundtrack instantly brought back memories. What happened next is how a lot of my mash-ups get started, I just start humming along a song to one of the game’s songs, and after that I pretty much have to produce it!

I haven’t had much time to do that with this project I was shooting this past week, but I did manage to get about the first minute or so finished. I’d like to share that with you now.

I’m trying to experiment a little with this mashup. I’m still working in some sound filters and other fun stuff that will hopefully enhance it. Any suggestions? Please comment below! 😀

2 thoughts on “WIP: Rotterdam Romance (Lady Gaga vs. Shinji Hosoe)

    • Yeah, its from the other song. (Rotterdam Nation) As far as I know there isn’t a version of it without the high pitched, reversed vocals. There are a few things I could try to quiet them though.

Leave a Reply

